Barista Training
Barista Training

Barista Training

NA

Start your journey to becoming a Barista with this short course. Gain an appreciation of coffee and learn how make a great cup of coffee. This course is targeted towards those interested in the barista field, plus those currently within the industry who wish to upskill.

Enrol online
Enrol via email
Enquire
Key Details
Queenstown
Qualification:
Short Course
Level:
Short Course
Duration:

3 Days

Study Modes:
On Campus
Dates:

#1 - 28, 29 January, 1 February

#2 - 16, 17 , 18 March

#3 - 23, 25, 27 April

#4 - 24, 25, 27 May

#5 - 14, 16, 17 July

#6 - 3, 4, 5 August

#7 - 4, 5, 6 September

#8 - 12, 14, 15 October

#9 - 18 ,19, 22 November

Fees:

$240 (including GST) which will be invoiced to you on enrolment. Fees must be paid before you commence the programme.

Please note this programme is not Government funded and the Zero Fees Scheme does not apply.

This course gives students an appreciation of coffee. It will provide information on the history and evolution of coffee and espresso technology for today's café society. It is targeted towards those interested in the barista field, plus those currently within the industry who wish to upskill.

Students will learn about coffee equipment and recipes, and prepare and present pressed and filtered coffee for service. 

Successful students will achieve Unit Standard 17285 and gain 4 credits at Level 2.  They will be eligible to apply themselves for a Unit Standard Certificate from ServiceIQ

Students will learn about coffee equipment and recipes, and prepare and present pressed and filtered coffee for service.

Successful students will be able to:

 

  • Demonstrate knowledge of commercial espresso equipment
  • Demonstrate knowledge of making espresso and other beverages using commercial espresso equipment
  • Prepare espresso beverages under supervision.
US 17285

Career opportunities include working in cafes, coffee shops, bistros and taverns, or wherever good coffee is served.

  • Academic and personal attributes to undertake the programme with a reasonable chance of success.
  • A high level of personal presentation
  • Work ethic required for employment in the hospitality industry.

For a student to have satisfactorily completed this programme:

  • Attended for not less than 80% of the timetabled class hours and other scheduled learning activities relating to the programme.
  • Completed all scheduled course work requirements and assessments.
  • Successfully completed assessment requirements for all modules/unit standards.
  1. Thursday, 28th January – 9-5 pm
    Friday, 29th January – 9-5 pm
    Monday, 1st February – 9-2 pm

  2. Tuesday, 16th March – 9-5 pm
    Wednesday, 17th March – 9-5 pm
    Thursday, 18th March – 9-2 pm

  3. Friday, 23rd April – 9-5 pm
    Sunday, 25th April – 9-5 pm
    Tuesday, 27th April – 11.30-4.30 pm 

  4. Monday, 24th May – 9-5 pm
    Tuesday, 25th May – 9-5 pm
    Thursday, 27th May – 9-2 pm 

  5. Wednesday, 14th July – 12-5 pm
    Friday, 16th July – 9-5 pm
    Saturday, 17th July – 9-5 pm

  6. Tuesday, 3rd August – 9-5.30 pm
    Wednesday, 4th August – 9-5.30 pm
    Thursday, 5th August – 1-5 pm

  7. Saturday, 4th September – 9-5.30 pm
    Sunday, 5th September – 9-5.30 pm
    Monday, 6th September – 1-5 pm

  8. Tuesday, 12th October – 9-5 pm
    Thursday, 14th October – 9-5 pm
    Friday, 15th October – 9-2 pm

  9. Thursday, 18th November – 9-5 pm
    Friday, 19th November – 9-5 pm
    Monday, 22nd November – 9-2 pm
  1. Monday 27th July – 9 am until 5 pm

Tuesday 28th July – 9 am until 5 pm

Thursday 30th July – 9 am until 2 pm

 

  1. Thursday 27th August – 1.30 pm until 5.30 pm

Saturday 29th August – 9 am until 5.30 pm

Sunday 30th August – 9 am until 5.30 pm

 

  1. Tuesday 6th October – 9 am until 4 pm

Wednesday 7th October – 9 am until 4 pm

Thursday 8th October – 9 am until 4 pm

 

  1. Friday 27th November – 9 am until 4 pm

Sunday 29th November – 9 am until 4 pm

Monday 30th November – 9 am until 4 pm

Suggested Courses